“ELOAD THEFT” update


(Here’s a copy of my request for investigation regarding “eload theft”.)

1 OCTOBER 2007

 

 

 

 

ENGR. DANILO SY

 

Regional Director

 

National Telecommunications Commission

 

Subangdako,Mandaue

City

 

 

 

 

S I R,

 

 

I am filing a formal request for investigation on cellular phone service operator SMART Communications for “E-LOAD THEFT”.

 

 

E-load Theft, as described by most cellular phone users, is the unfair deduction of e-load credits without the consent of the subscriber concerned. It is now the most common complaint among the poor prepaid subscribers in the country. It is perhaps the most ignored, if not dismissed, complaint by many cellphone users.

 

 

On September 10, 2007 I loaded a P300-worth prepaid SMART Buddy call & text card, with card number 000535431667, to cellular phone number 09182319694.

 

 

As far as I knew, the phone has no enough load credits at the time I loaded the prepaid card. I purposely loaded the cellphone with fresh load credits hence I was using it to connect to the internet with my personal computer on that evening.

 

 

However, I was not able to connect via GPRS despite several attempts and this message appeared on my PC screen:

 

 

                        INTERNET CONNECTIONS (7736)

 

                           

The GPRS CONNECTION COULD NOT BE ESTABLISHED, MAKE

 

                           SURE THAT YOU HAVE SUBSCRIBED TO THE DATA OPTION AND THAT

 

                           THE GPRS NETWORK IS ACCESSIBLE. CONTACT YOUR (SMART)

 

     SERVICE PROVIDER FOR MORE DETAILS.

 

The morning (Sept. 11, 2007) after that unsuccessful night, I discovered that the remaining load credit was already amounted to P189.42 with 30 free texts. I asked someone to verify with SMART’s customer service hotline(*888).

 

 

A customer service call agent said that about P110 was deducted from my load credits for calling six times abroad.

 

 

Hence, the calls can not be verified over the hotline I went to theSMART

Wireless

Center

in SM City Cebu the next day (September 12, 2007) for further inquiry hoping for possible remedy.

 

 

The customer service officer at counter 7 (my priority number was 1244) provided me with these details:

 

 

            

NUMBER CALLED         TIME              DURATION

 

                00306975000000     19:54:56           11 SECS

 

                00306975000000     19:55:57           10 SECS

 

                00306975000000     20:05:34           11 SECS

 

                00306975000000     20:06:08           11 SECS

 

                00306975000000     20:16:59           11 SECS

 

                00306975000000     23:24:09           11 SECS

 

 

The customer service officer begged off from giving me where the supposed calls were sent. Hence, I made my own search of the number in the international phone list but ended up with the information that the area code of the number (00306975000000) is invalid.

 

 

The customer service officer also provided me with the time I loaded the P300-worth prepaid card based on their record. It was 20:11:29 while the phone I was using registered it on 20:19:00.

 

 

Here are some important points I took note:

 

 

·       

The first four calls were made prior the fresh load credits:

 

NUMBER CALLED         TIME              DURATION

 

          00306975000000     19:54:56           11 SECS

 

                                       00306975000000     19:55:57           10 SECS

 

                                       00306975000000     20:05:34           11 SECS

 

                                       00306975000000     20:06:08           11 SECS

 

                Question: Why charge the above calls against my load

 

       credits before the phone was qualified to

 

       make such call considering it had no enough

 

       load credits? Does it mean SMART is now

 

       allowing call credit now and pay later?

 

·       

All calls, except the second call, were terminated at exactly the same duration (11 secs). This is statistically impossible for a human to end all his calls at the same duration. This is only possible if we used a timed machine in making calls.

 

 

I was told by the customer service officer at counter 7 to check after 24-48 hours if the missing load credits will be reverted back to my account. None was credited back after 48 hours.

 

 

I was called by a representative of the Public Affairs Office of SMART to verify my complaint after reading it in Sunstar Daily’s readers’ view section.

 

 

On September 28, 2007, I went back toSMART

Wireless

Center

to follow-up the status of my complaint. I was told it is still under investigation.

 

 

Finally, on September 30, 2007, after 18 days since the filing of the complaint I was called by SMART’s 6556 and was told by the company’s representative that the deduction from my load credit can not be reverted back to me since those alleged overseas calls were “valid”.

 

 

Therefore, I am requesting your good office to conduct investigation on my complaint hence this would be a good precedent of the long-time complaints among cellphone subscribers.

 

 

Did SMART’S circuit receive a call signal from the phone I am using on those periods I was charged for overseas calls?

 

 

I am willing to come to your office should an investigation be conducted on my complaint.

 

 

Thank You.

 

 

 

 

Truly yours,

 

 

 

 

 

 

JUN TARIMAN

 

 

3 thoughts on ““ELOAD THEFT” update

  1. Three week consecutive ako ninanakawan ng load! Nakaka-inis talaga, saan ba pwedeng mag reklamo?? Im planning to change my network ang maganda e palit??

    Like

Leave a Reply

